NEKWE challenge: genre shock

Write something in an unaccustomed genre, or in a style you normally wouldn’t use. Take your time on this one if you want.

Using myself as an example, I think I’ll try a stream-of-consciousness short story, since my stories are always so conventionally narrated. Someone who usually does fiction might try a play. Someone used to free verse might try a villanelle or a sonnet or something.

About Greg Bryant

I teach writing and literature at Highland Community College in northeast Kansas.
This entry was posted in challenges. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to NEKWE challenge: genre shock

  1. bryon says:

    It’s been a long time since I’ve done a limerick.

    There once was a man from Nantucket
    Whose arse became stuck in a bucket
    He fumed for a while
    But then said with a smile,
    “My wallet’s safe; no one can pluck it!”

    – – – – –

    A lady from out west of town
    Walked the streets in a very sheer gown
    “I’m not what you think,”
    She said with a wink,
    “Although maybe we could go lie down.”

    – – – – –

    A man with his fowl on the loch
    Left his fishing things back on the dock.
    “I could tie a long string
    “On the end of my thing
    “But I’ve nothing for bait but my cock.”

    – – – – –

    A senator sought re-election
    Despite his own party’s rejection
    He begged and he pleaded
    But nobody heeded
    And soon he went down in dejection.

    – – – – –

    A woman who came from Killarney
    Was known for her blather and blarney
    Her husband, she told,
    Had a peerage of old
    Although he was known as a carny.

    – – – – –

    A criminal facing the bench
    Tried to hold a fart back with a clench
    But soon it got out
    Loudly whistling about
    And the judge fined him twice for the stench.

    • Greg says:

      Cool! Did I ever show you this one?

      My political friends, be advised:
      Be you never so warmly enticed,
           Never try to talk sense
           With somebody so dense
      He thinks Bush is the vicar of Christ.

  2. bryon says:

    Nope, hadn’t seen that one. It’s a goodie!

  3. Greg Bryant says:

    My contribution is “Nineteen Minutes.” I wanted to try the third-person objective point of view, where a narrator who is not a character merely reports what people say and do, never what they think or feel. Those things must be inferred from their outwardly perceivable behavior. Ernest Hemingway does this in “The Killers.” It has a creepy effect, because the reader’s imagination, fed properly, can run far ahead of some narrator telling them “John said sadly” or “John was in love.” I’d be interested to hear anyone’s report on how the story affects them.

Leave a Reply

