BWS

for Trayvon Martin — R.I.P‎.

you gotta fight back, I say you gotta attack
cause you got no buddies who got your back
you can’t relax, can’t wait for the facts
can’t take a chance when he starts to make tracks
when you’re face to face, I mean face to back
with a 17-year-old Black With Snacks
Blacks With Snacks
Blacks With Snacks
gotta watch out for them Blacks With Snacks

About Greg Bryant

I teach writing and literature at Highland Community College in northeast Kansas.
This entry was posted in poems. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to BWS

  1. bryon says:

    Beautiful and bitter. Let’s hear it for American gun culture.

    • Greg Bryant says:

      I meant every bit of the bitterness, too. That murderer should be in custody. Self-defense my ass. Here’s a limerick I put on facebook:

      Will someone explain it to me
      why a killer’s allowed to go free
           if he claims self-defense
           against such violence
      as a cell phone and Skittles and tea?

Leave a Reply

